Opening hours: Tuesday - Sunday, 11am-5pm

Watson Road

Observatory Hill (The Rocks)

Portia Geach Memorial Award 1999

  • This event finished on 15 October 1999

15 October–14 November 1999

The Award was established by the will of the late Florence Kate Geach in memory of her sister, Portia Geach. The non-acquisitive prize is awarded by the Trustee for the entry which is of the highest artistic merit, ‘…for the best portrait painted from life of some man or woman distinguished in Art, Letters, or the Sciences by any female artist resident in Australia during the twelve months preceding the close date for entries.’

The Portia Geach Memorial Award was given to Kim Spooner for social currency (Eva Cox)

Artists: Joy Beardmore, Melissa Becker, Danelle Bergstrom, Nancy Berryman, Annette Bezor, Wanda Brabenec, Angela Brennan, Annie Burns, Catherine Cassidy, Grace Costanzo, Maryanne Coutts, Lola Cullen, Lucy Culliton, Vivienne Dadour, Lesley Dimmick, Esther Erlich, Kathy Golski, Sophie Gralton, Paula B. Hall, Sophie Hann, Juliet Holmes A Court, Lisa Holzl, Tonia Kay Howlett, Anne Ingeboudt, Janet Jones, Anwen Keeling, Kay Keller, Amanda King, Barbara Licha, Carolyn McKay-Creecy, Lisa McKimmie, Sallie Moffatt, Catherine Moore, Kilmeny Niland, Robijn Ong, Yvette Pritchard, Barbara Pye, Yoli Salmona, Laila Savolainen, Wendy Sharpe, Kim Smith, Kim Spooner, Branca Uzur, Rosemary Valadon, Lorna Wall, Vicki White, Jackie Wilson.

Selectors: Dinah Dysart, Jenny Sages & Andrew Sayers

image: KIM SPOONER Social currency (Eva Cox) 1999 encaustic on canvas 180 x 160cm