Opening hours: Tuesday - Sunday, 11am-5pm

Watson Road

Observatory Hill (The Rocks)

Portia Geach Memorial Award 2006

  • This event finished on 05 November 2006

29 September–5 November 2006

First awarded in 1965, The Portia Geach Memorial Award was established by Florence Kate Geach in memory of her sister, artist Portia Geach. As per the direction of the will, the Award is annually presented to an Australian female artist for the best portrait painted from life of a man or woman distinguished in art, letters or the sciences. Geach was widely acclaimed as a leading artist and was a frequent commentator in the national media – making her an iconic figure in the Australian arts community. The Portia Geach Memorial Award is awarded by The Trust Company as trustee, to the entry with the highest artistic merit.

The winner of the Portia Geach Memorial Award 2006 was Lucy Culliton Self with friends.

Judges: Barry Pearce, Aida Tomescu & Jane Watters


Gabrielle Bates

Sue Bell

Danelle Bergstrom

Nancy Berryman

Jo Bertini

Carole Best

Kate Beynon

Joanna Braithwaite

Meg Brassil

Claire Busuttil Bridge

Teresa Byrne

Ann Cape

Catherine Cassidy

Tania Castaing

Gaye Chapman

Ah Too Chew

Kristin Coburn

Grace Costanzo

Maryanne Coutts

Kathryn Cowen

Lucy Culliton

Julie Dowling

Gillian Dunlop

Melissa Egan

Lyn Fabian

Frances Feasey

Janet Ferguson

Marina Finlay

Prudence Flint

Mauree Grace

Janette Hanrahan

Prudence Flint A Fine Romance #18, 2005 oil on linen, 114 x 89cm

Prudence Hawke

Frances Hayes

Kyra Henley

Pollyxenia Joannou

Janet Jones

Shellie Kelly

Janis Lander

Eugenie Lee

Liz Loder

Larissa Mackay

Sarah Anne Malone

Raquel Mazzina

Angela Meyer

Lydia Miller

Lesley O’Shea

Amanda Penrose Hart

Yoli Salmona

Kim Shannon

Mariola Smarzak

Robyn Stanton Werkhoven

Sue Taylor

Alexandra Thorby

Branca Uzur

Bronwyn Woodley Graham

Hui-Jie Zhao

Zuza Zochowski


01 October                  Gaye Chapman, Claire Busuttil Bridge Sarah Anne Malone & Gabrielle Bates four exhibiting artists share ideas & offer their differing views on self portraiture

08 October                  Lucy Culliton Winner, 2006 Portia Geach Memorial Award on painting technique, inspiration & the art of friendship

15 October                  Who was Portia Geach?with historian, Annette Butterfield.  Learn more on Portia’s life – the accomplished artist &  passionate advocate of women’s rights. aLSO Grace Costanzo & Alexandra Thorby How does the balance lie between self portraiture & painting another person?  Two exhibiting artists explain.

22 October                  Larissa Mackay, Bronwyn Woodley Graham & Yoli Salmona discuss the intriguing concept of the celebrity portrait.

29 October                  Joanna Braithwaite & Catherine Cassidy reveal how each has explored self-portraiture and identity.

05 November             Danelle Bergstrom talks about painting the artist, Nancy Borlase.  Marina Finlay discusses her portraits of artists, Margaret Woodward & Lily Lynn.


Past Winners of the Portia Geach Memorial Award

2006 – Lucy Culliton, Self with Friends

2005 – Jude Rae, Large Interior (Micky Allan)

2004 – Nerissa Lea, The Sheik & Me, Self Portrait with Imagined Portrait of Chad Morgan after Frida Kahlo

2003 – Wendy SharpeSelf Portrait with Tea Cup and Burning Paintings

2002 – Vicki Varvaressos, Self Portrait with Painting

2001 – Mary Moore, At Home

2000 – Nancy BorlaseThe Sisters: Marie and Vida Breckenridge

1999 – Kim Spooner, Social Currency (Eva Cox)

1998 – Anita Rezevska, Self Portrait – Woman from Riga

1997 – Maria Isabel, Cruz Maria

1996 – Su Baker, Self Portrait at Six Paces

1995 – Wendy SharpeSelf Portrait with Students, After Adelaide Labille-Guiard

1994 – Jenny SagesAnn Thomson

1993 – Aileen Rogers, Suzanne Mourot

1992 – Jenny Sages,Nancy Borlase and Laurie Short

1991 – Rosemary Valadon, Frances Joseph

1990 – Jenny Watson, Self Portrait

1989 – Jenny Sands, Alex Karpin

1988 – Margaret Ackland, Shay Docking

1987 – Christine Hiller, Self Portrait

1986 – Christine Hiller, Self Portrait

1985 – Gwen Eichler, Dianne Fogwell

1984 – Margaret Woodward, Madeleine Halliday

1983 – Margaret Woodward, Self Portrait

1982 – Brenda Humble, Virginia Hall

1981 – Susan Howard, Jenny Kee

1980 – Judy Pennefather, Venie Schulenberg

1979 – Ivy ShoreKondelea (Della) Elliott

1978 – Dora Toovey, Senator Neville Bonner

1977 – Ena Joyce, George Lawrence

1976 – Jocelyn Maughan, George Bouckley

1975 – Mary Brady, Elizabeth Rooney

1974 – Lesley H Pockley, Hugh Paget

1973 – Sylvia Tiarks, Self Portrait

1972 – Elisabeth Cummings, Jean Appleton

1971 – Mary Brady, Larry Sitsky

1970 – Dora Toovey, Self Portrait in Landscape

1969 – Vaike Liibus, Guy Warren

1968 – Bettina McMahon, Self Portrait

1967 – Jo Caddy, Laurence Davis

1966 – Mary Brady, Grahame Edgar

1965 – Jean Appleton, Self Portrait