Opening hours: Tuesday - Sunday, 11am-5pm

Watson Road

Observatory Hill (The Rocks)

Portia Geach Memorial Award 2005

  • This event finished on 06 November 2005

Portia Geach Memorial Award 2005
First awarded in 1965, the Portia Geach Memorial Award was established by Florence Kate Geach in memory of her sister, artist Portia Geach. As per the direction of the will, the Award is annually presented to an Australian female artist for the best portrait painted from life of a man or woman distinguished in art, letters or the sciences. Geach was widely acclaimed as a leading artist and was a frequent commentator in the national media – making her an iconic figure in the Australian arts community. The Portia Geach Memorial Award is awarded by The Trust Company as trustee, to the entry with the highest artistic merit.
From a submission of 315 entries the winner of the Portia Geach Memorial Award 2005 was Jude Rae, Large Interior (Micky Allan) (pictured)
The People’s Choice Award was given to Danelle Bergstrom for Inspector Hobbs (Michael Hobbs, art collector and patron)

Finalists_Portia Geach 05Clare


Clare Morgan  Still life to interior lives reflects a winning move  Sydney Morning Herald 30 September 2005




Portia Geach Memorial Award  –  Public Program

Sunday, 2 October Grace Costanzo & Jeanette Korduba-Thompson discussing the experience of painting each others portrait, as exhibited this year

Sunday, 9 October Jude Rae, winner 2005 Portia Geach Memorial Award with portrait subject, Micky Allan

Sunday, 16 October   Linda Burney MP, Member for Canterbury with artists, Sinead Davies & Glenda Jones. Linda Burney, MP, is the subject of two portraits in this year’s Portia Geach Memorial Award

Sunday, 23 October     Annette Butterfield & Camille Fox

Sunday, 30 October     Lucy Culliton, Joanna Braithwaite & Yulia Akerholt

Sunday, 6 November  Jo Bertini & sitter, Jon Plapp


Past Winners of the Portia Geach Memorial Award

2004 – Nerissa Lea, The Sheik & Me, Self Portrait with Imagined Portrait of Chad Morgan after Frida Kahlo

2003 – Wendy SharpeSelf Portrait with Tea Cup and Burning Paintings

2002 – Vicki Varvaressos, Self Portrait with Painting

2001 – Mary Moore, At Home

2000 – Nancy BorlaseThe Sisters: Marie and Vida Breckenridge

1999 – Kim Spooner, Social Currency (Eva Cox)

1998 – Anita Rezevska, Self Portrait – Woman from Riga

1997 – Maria Isabel, Cruz Maria

1996 – Su Baker, Self Portrait at Six Paces

1995 – Wendy SharpeSelf Portrait with Students, After Adelaide Labille-Guiard

1994 – Jenny SagesAnn Thomson

1993 – Aileen Rogers, Suzanne Mourot

1992 – Jenny Sages,Nancy Borlase and Laurie Short

1991 – Rosemary Valadon, Frances Joseph

1990 – Jenny Watson, Self Portrait

1989 – Jenny Sands, Alex Karpin

1988 – Margaret Ackland, Shay Docking

1987 – Christine Hiller, Self Portrait

1986 – Christine Hiller, Self Portrait

1985 – Gwen Eichler, Dianne Fogwell

1984 – Margaret Woodward, Madeleine Halliday

1983 – Margaret Woodward, Self Portrait

1982 – Brenda Humble, Virginia Hall

1981 – Susan Howard, Jenny Kee

1980 – Judy Pennefather, Venie Schulenberg

1979 – Ivy ShoreKondelea (Della) Elliott

1978 – Dora Toovey, Senator Neville Bonner

1977 – Ena Joyce, George Lawrence

1976 – Jocelyn Maughan, George Bouckley

1975 – Mary Brady, Elizabeth Rooney

1974 – Lesley H Pockley, Hugh Paget

1973 – Sylvia Tiarks, Self Portrait

1972 – Elisabeth Cummings, Jean Appleton

1971 – Mary Brady, Larry Sitsky

1970 – Dora Toovey, Self Portrait in Landscape

1969 – Vaike Liibus, Guy Warren

1968 – Bettina McMahon, Self Portrait

1967 – Jo Caddy, Laurence Davis

1966 – Mary Brady, Grahame Edgar

1965 – Jean Appleton, Self Portrait