Opening hours: Tuesday - Sunday, 11am-5pm

Watson Road

Observatory Hill (The Rocks)

Portia Geach Memorial Prize 2011

  • This event finished on 06 November 2011

The Portia Geach Memorial Award was established by Florence Kate Geach in memory of her sister, artist Portia Geach, who spent much of her life campaigning for the rights of women in Australia and was determined to make a living from painting. Geach was widely acclaimed as a leading artist and was a frequent commentator in the national media – making her an iconic figure in the Australian arts community. The Portia Geach Memorial Award is awarded by The Trust Company as trustee, to the entry with the highest artistic merit.


Kate Stevens was announced as the winner of the 2011 Portia Geach Memorial Award. At the official opening of the 2011 exhibition in Sydney, the $18,000 prize was awarded to the Braidwood-based artist for her portrait of animator, video and street artist Willy Bernardoff, titled Indian Dream.

Sydney based artist Sophie Cape has won the Portia Geach Memorial Award People’s Choice with a painting of Captain Paul Watson.  Cape’s dynamic painting of the Captain of the Sea Shepherd, Paul Watson, began with quick sketches done in an airport lounge. Sophie Cape is emerging as one of Sydney’s most talented young artists. In a recent review of the Portia Geach Memorial Award exhibition, John McDonald described her work as “bold and audacious”.

The Portia Geach Memorial Award People’s Choice Award has been generously donated by Mrs Josephine Delacour.


Women’s work – John McDonald, The Sydney Morning Herald 29 October 2011


2011 Portia Geach Memorial Award Finalists Announced

Public Programs 

Sunday 23 October, 3pm – Artist talk, ‘Painting a Self Portrait’

Join artists Kate Beynon, Bridget Dolan, Laura Courtney and Laura Jones for a floor talk as they discuss the process of painting a self-portrait.

Sunday 30 October, 3pm – Who Was Portia Geach?

Join Annette Butterfield for an informative talk as she discusses the life of Portia Geach and the history of the Portia Geach Memorial Award. Also artist Sally West will discuss her painting in the exhibition

List of works

Past Winners of the Portia Geach Memorial Award

2010 – Prudence Flint, Scrambled egg

2009 – Christine Hiller, The Old Painter

2008 – Jude Rae, Self Portrait 2008 (The Year My Husband Left)

2007 – Maryanne Coutts, Melbourne

2006 – Lucy Culliton, Self with Friends

2005 – Jude Rae, Large Interior (Micky Allan)

2004 – Nerissa Lea, The Sheik & Me, Self Portrait with Imagined Portrait of Chad Morgan after Frida Kahlo

2003 – Wendy SharpeSelf Portrait with Tea Cup and Burning Paintings

2002 – Vicki Varvaressos, Self Portrait with Painting

2001 – Mary Moore, At Home

2000 – Nancy BorlaseThe Sisters: Marie and Vida Breckenridge

1999 – Kim Spooner, Social Currency (Eva Cox)

1998 – Anita Rezevska, Self Portrait – Woman from Riga

1997 – Maria Isabel, Cruz Maria

1996 – Su Baker, Self Portrait at Six Paces

1995 – Wendy SharpeSelf Portrait with Students, After Adelaide Labille-Guiard

1994 – Jenny SagesAnn Thomson

1993 – Aileen Rogers, Suzanne Mourot

1992 – Jenny Sages,Nancy Borlase and Laurie Short

1991 – Rosemary Valadon, Frances Joseph

1990 – Jenny Watson, Self Portrait

1989 – Jenny Sands, Alex Karpin

1988 – Margaret Ackland, Shay Docking

1987 – Christine Hiller, Self Portrait

1986 – Christine Hiller, Self Portrait

1985 – Gwen Eichler, Dianne Fogwell

1984 – Margaret Woodward, Madeleine Halliday

1983 – Margaret Woodward, Self Portrait

1982 – Brenda Humble, Virginia Hall

1981 – Susan Howard, Jenny Kee

1980 – Judy Pennefather, Venie Schulenberg

1979 – Ivy ShoreKondelea (Della) Elliott

1978 – Dora Toovey, Senator Neville Bonner

1977 – Ena Joyce, George Lawrence

1976 – Jocelyn Maughan, George Bouckley

1975 – Mary Brady, Elizabeth Rooney

1974 – Lesley H Pockley, Hugh Paget

1973 – Sylvia Tiarks, Self Portrait

1972 – Elisabeth Cummings, Jean Appleton

1971 – Mary Brady, Larry Sitsky

1970 – Dora Toovey, Self Portrait in Landscape

1969 – Vaike Liibus, Guy Warren

1968 – Bettina McMahon, Self Portrait

1967 – Jo Caddy, Laurence Davis

1966 – Mary Brady, Grahame Egor

1965 – Jean Appleton, Self Portrait