Opening hours: Tuesday - Sunday, 11am-5pm

Watson Road

Observatory Hill (The Rocks)

Salon des Refusés 2008

  • This event finished on 04 May 2008

The Salon des Refusés was initiated by the S.H. Ervin Gallery in 1992 in the tradition of the renegade French Impressionists of the 1860s who held a breakaway exhibition from the reactionary French Academy. In 1863, the French Academy rejected a staggering 2800 canvases submitted for the annual Salon exhibition. Among those refused were Paul Cézanne, Camille Pissarro, Henri Fantin-Latour, James Whistler and Édouard Manet, who entered his now legendary painting, Le déjeuner sur l’Herbe. This particular work was regarded as a scandalous affront to taste.  The jury also argued these artists were “a clear danger to society and that the slightest encouragement would be risky.”

Since there were very few independent art exhibitions in imperial France, the taste of the buying public was dictated almost entirely by the Academy. Most members of the public invested only in artists sanctioned by the Salon. Rejection by the Academy therefore threatened many artists with professional extinction.

The protests that followed the Academy’s 1863 decision were so public and so pointed that eventually Napoleon III himself appeared at the Palais de l’Industrie and demanded to see the rejected works.  He then instructed the Academy to reconsider its selection and when it refused, the Emperor decreed that the rejected paintings go on display in a separate exhibition. And so the phrase Salon des Refusés entered into the world’s artistic lexicon. A hundred and twenty-nine years later, the S.H. Ervin Gallery revived the tradition and the name.

Each year our panel is invited to go behind the scenes of the judging process for the annual Archibald Prize for portraiture and Wynne Prize for landscape painting and figure sculpture at the Art Gallery of New South Wales, to select an exhibition from the many works entered in both prizes not chosen for the official award exhibition. The criteria for works selected in the Salon are quality, diversity, humour and innovation.

The Salon des Refusés exhibition at the S.H. Ervin Gallery has established an excellent reputation that rivals the selections of the ‘official’ prize exhibition and is often cited as a more lively and discerning selection.

2008 Selection Committee:

Susi Muddiman   Director, Tweed River Art Gallery

Jane Watters        Director, S.H. Ervin Gallery

The artists selected for the 2008 Salon des Refusés included:

Scott Baker, John Bartley,Michael Bell, Sue Berglund, G.W. Bot, Mostyn Bramley-Moore, Joshua Bullen & Catherine Conceicao, Jon Campbell, Ann Cape, Tom Carment, Lucy Culliton, Laraine Deer, Kate Dorrough, Geoffrey Dyer, Esther Erlich, Petrea FellowsAndrew Forsythe, Graham Fransella, Joe Furlonger,Gilbert Grace, Hélène Grove, Craig Handley, Birgitte Hansen, Jasper Knight, Ildiko Kovacs,Tim Kyle, Chris Langloi, Mai Long, Melinda Mackay, Dean Manning, Ishbel Morag Miller,Stephen Nothling, Chris O’Doherty aka Reg Mombassa, Peter O’Doherty,Christine O’Hagan, Joe Penn, Matthew QuicK, Lisa Reid,Leo Robba, Jenny Sages, Jane Sandford, Jo Shand, Peter Sharp, Jeannette Siebols, Peter Smeeth, Tracy Smith, Claire Stening, Taylor Stewart, Andrew Sullivan, Robyn Sweaney, Pam Tippett, Lesley Turnbull, Naomi Ullmann, Vayu, and Peter Wegner.

Pictured: People’s Choice Award Winner –  Peter Smeeth Philip Adams – The Rematch.

The 2008 Salon des Refusés travelled to Tweed River Art Gallery on the 22 May – 29 June 2008.

Principal Sponsor